Fifteen Young Writers Honored at The College Board

On May 30, 2018, Represent magazine celebrated the outstanding writing, persistence, and achievements of 15 young people at the 20th Annual Awards for Youth in Foster Care, hosted by the College Board in New York City. 
Each winner received a scholarship ranging from $500 to $1,000 and recognition of their writing, resiliency, and service to others.  
The winners each submitted two essays to enter the competition: one about a time they found their power and another on how they have helped someone. Essay topics include forgiving an addict mother, working several jobs to pay for college, and rising above anger and walking away from a fight. Excerpts from their essays were published in a souvenir journal for the ceremony. 
To commemorate the 20th anniversary of this award, we presented a Champion of Youth Voice Award to Elise Gelbman (above, right), who has gone above and beyond to support youth in care in her 32 years in the field of foster care. Between 1999 and 2017, Elise nominated 11 winners to the Awards. 
Two former Awards winners marked the 20th anniversary of the celebration this year. Wesner Pierre (below, left)  won the very first year; he is currently the Vice President of Education and Youth Development at CAMBA. Pauline Gordon, a 10th-year winner, is now an Administrative Director/Child and Family Specialist at ACS.
Thank you to all of our judges, speakers and presenters, the nominators and other adults who work with the winners and support them on their journeys, the College Board, the Sunny and Abe Rosenberg Foundation, Tin Man Fund, and Bob Danzig for making the awards possible. 

Congratulations to all of the winners!

(Feel free to tag yourself on Facebook)

Thank You to the Adults Who Nominated This Year’s Winners

Jacob Backer: New York Foundling

Stacey Castillo: Administration for Children’s Services

Mitchell Conway: New York Foundling

Giselle Di Genarro: SCO Family of Services

Paula Garcia: SCO Family of Services

Katherine Hartling: New York Foundling

Jaclyn Holzer: New York Foundling

Daphaney Jacquitte-Vante: SCO Family of Services

Nathalie Lindor: New York Foundling

Shajida McNab: MercyFirst

Carmen Paola-Coco: New York Foundling

Michelle Tarangelo: Little Flower

Frank Vesce: Edwin Gould Services for Children and Families

Jeremy Watson: Edwin Gould Services for Children and Families

Nicole Wong: New York Foundling


Thank You to the Agencies That Provide Services to This Year’s Winners

Administration for Children’s Services: Tayia Day

Edwin Gould Services for Children and Families: Jalisa Allen, Marcus Diego,

Heartshare St. Vincent’s Services: Gabrielle Rodriguez

Little Flower: Hawa Balde

MercyFirst: Emily Villarroel

New York Foundling: Tamya Golson, Gustin Jacques, Paola Mena

St. Dominic’s: Shaianna Viera

SCO Family of Services: Anastasia De La Mota, Nigel Hutton, Jzhamaine Parson, Sarah Slater

Seamen’s Society: Rain Sebreth

Youth Comm Reporter Youth Comm

One comment

  1. Like!! Thank you for publishing this awesome article.

Leave a Reply